Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, WBCA Name Winners of Four New Women's College Basketball Awards

Top Players in Each Position Recognized at the NCAA Women’s Final Four


COLUMBUS, OHIO - In collaboration with ESPN, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) established four inaugural women’s college basketball awards during the 2017-18 season. In addition to the esteemed Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award which has been presented since 2000, the Basketball Hall of Fame and the WBCA are proud to now present the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and Lisa Leslie Center Award.

"The Basketball Hall of Fame is an institution that represents the entire game of basketball, all over the world and at every level,” said John Doleva, President of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “The creation of these awards brings together the very best of the women's game, both Hall of Famers and the top student-athletes. We are excited honor our winners in Columbus this weekend.”

The inaugural winners of the five positional player of the year awards were announced this evening during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four. This year’s winners are:

Sabrina Ionescu (Oregon) - Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award

Victoria Vivians (Mississippi State) - Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard of the Year Award

Gabby Williams (Connecticut) - Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award

Ruthy Hebard (Oregon) - Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award

A'ja Wilson (South Carolina) - Lisa Leslie Center of the Year

Each award’s namesake headed her own selection committee and will be on hand tomorrow morning to present her award at the College Women's Basketball Awards Reception hosted by the Basketball Hall of Fame and WBCA at the Hyatt Regency Columbus. For more information, visit


2018 Nancy Lieberman Award Finalists

Kia Nurse (Connecticut)

Lexie Brown (Duke)

Katelynn Flaherty (Michigan)

Kelsey Mitchell (Ohio St.)

Sabrina Ionescu (Oregon)


2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Finalists

Katie Lou Samuelson (Connecticut)

Asia Durr (Louisville)

Victoria Vivians (Mississippi St.)

Arike Ogunbowale (Notre Dame)

Kitija Laksa (South Florida)


2018 Cheryl Miller Award Finalists

Gabby Williams (Connecticut)

Shakayla Thomas (Florida St.)

Sophie Cunningham (Missouri)

Jaime Nared (Tennessee)

Teana Muldrow (West Virginia)


2018 Katrina McClain Award Finalists

Lauren Cox (Baylor)

Napheesa Collier (Connecticut)

Caliya Robinson (Georgia)

Myisha Hines-Allen (Louisville)

Ruthy Hebard (Oregon)


2018 Lisa Leslie Award Finalists

Kalani Brown (Baylor)

Teaira McCowan (Mississippi St.)

A’ja Wilson (South Carolina)

Mercedes Russell (Tennessee)

Monique Billings (UCLA)


About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of FameLocated in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.

For more information:

Visit us online: or

… on Facebook:

… on Twitter/Instagram: @hoophall

… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA