Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Eligible Candidates for the Class of 2017

SPRINGFIELD, MA – Today, December 21st, marks the 125th Anniversary of Basketball – the game that was invented by Dr. James Naismith in Springfield, Mass. and has grown into an international pastime.

As part of the celebration of this momentous day, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has announced the eligible candidates for the Class of 2017. A first look at the list was provided by The Jump on ESPN2, hosted by Rachel Nichols and first-time Hall of Fame nominee Tracy McGrady. A complete list of eligible candidates can be found below.

A press conference announcing the Finalists from the North American and Women’s committee for the Class of 2017 will be held at NBA All-Star Weekend, which is scheduled for Saturday, February 18th in New Orleans, Louisiana. The entire Class of 2017, including those selected by the direct elect committees, will be unveiled on Monday, April 3rd at the Men’s NCAA Final Four in Phoenix, Arizona. 

Enshrinement festivities will take place in Springfield, Mass., September 7-9, 2017. Tickets for the various Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2017 Enshrinement events are on sale as of noon eastern time on

North American Committee Nominations

Mark Aguirre (PLA)

Geese Ausbie (PLA)

Bill Bertka (COA)

Muggsy Bogues (PLA)*

Junior Bridgeman (PLA)

Irv Brown (REF)

Maurice Cheeks (PLA)

Terry Cummings (PLA)

Charles “Lefty” Driesell (COA)

Hugh Evans (REF)

Bill Fitch (COA)

Cotton Fitzsimmons (COA)

Tim Hardaway (PLA)

Del Harris (COA)

Robert Hughes (COA)

Kevin Johnson (PLA)

Marques Johnson (PLA)

Bobby Jones (PLA)

Jerry “Tiger” Jones (COA)

Gene Keady (COA)

Rollie Massimino (COA)

Tracy McGrady (PLA)*

Gary McKnight (COA)

Danny Miles (COA)

Sidney Moncrief (PLA)

Dick Motta (COA)

Swen Nater (PLA)

Jake O’Donnell (REF)*

Jim Phelan (COA)*

Mark Price (PLA)

Jere Quinn (COA)*

Glenn Robinson (COA)

Lee Rose (COA)

Bo Ryan (COA)

Bob Saulsbury (COA)*

Bill Self (COA)*

Jack Sikma (PLA)

Steve Smith (COA)

Fred Snowden (COA)

Harry Statham (COA)*

Eddie Sutton (COA)

Rudy Tomjanovich (COA)

Ben Wallace (PLA)*

Chris Webber (PLA)

Paul Westphal (PLA)

Women’s Committee Nominations

Leta Andrews (COA)

Jennifer Azzi (PLA)

Rebecca Lobo (PLA)

Muffet McGraw (COA)

Susie McConnell (PLA)

Pearl Moore (PLA)

Kim Mulkey (COA, PLA)

Harley Redin (COA)

Theresa Shank (PLA)

Marianne Stanley (COA)

Barbara Stevens (COA)

Wayland Baptist (TEA)

Therea Weatherspoon (PLA)

International Committee Nominations

Tal Brody

Jackie Chazalon

Vlade Divac

Nick Galis

Semen Khalipski

Vladimir Kondrashin

Toni Kukoc

Marcos Leite

Aldo Ossola

Amaury Pasos

Dino Radja

Manuel Sainz

Togo Soares

Ranko Zeravica

Veterans Committee Nominations

1936 US Olympic Team (TEA)

1964 State Department Basketball Ambassadors (TEA)

Ron Boone (PLA)

Sid Borgia (REF)*

Carl Braun (PLA)

Frank Brian (PLA)                

Joe Caldwell (PLA)

Mack Calvin (PLA)

Charles Eckman (REF)

Leroy Edwards (PLA)

Leo Ferris (CONT)

Clarence “Bevo” Francis (PLA)

Buck Freeman (COA)

Donnie Freeman (PLA)

Travis Grant (PLA)

Bob Grody (PLA)

Robert Harrison (PLA)

Flo Harvey (PLA)

Dick Hemric (PLA)*

Cam Henderson (COA)

Robert Hopkins (PLA)

Lou Hudson (PLA)

Warren Jabali (PLA)

Jimmy Jones (PLA)

Charles Kenaith (PLA)*

Freddie Lewis (PLA)

Jim Loscutoff (PLA)

Loyola of Chicago (TEA)

Billy Markward (CONT)*

George McGinnis (PLA)

Ray Mears (COA)*

Francis Meehan (PLA)

Donald “Dudey” Moore (COA)

Willie Naulls (PLA)

Philadelphia SPHAS (TEA)

Mel Riebe (PLA)

Glenn Roberts (PLA)

Holcombe Rucker (CONT)

Kenny Sailors (PLA)

Fred Schaus (PLA)*

Charlie Scott (PLA)

Kenny Sears (PLA)

Frank Selvy (PLA)

George Senesky (PLA)

Paul Seymour (PLA)

Charles Siler (CONT)

Talvin Skinner (PLA)

Ken Suesens (PLA)

Tennessee A&I (TEA)

Dick Van Arsdale (PLA)

Tom Van Arsdale (PLA)

Willie Wise (PLA)

Max Zaslofsky (PLA) 

Early African-American Pioneers Committee Nominations

Clarence “Puggy” Bell

Sonny Boswell

Zack Clayton

Chuck Cooper

Bill Garrett

Inman Jackson

Clarence “Fats” Jenkins

Bucky Lew

Davage “Dave” Minor

Hudson Oliver

Al “Runt” Pullins

James “Pappy” Ricks

Paul Robeson

Eyre Saitch

William “Wee Willie” Smith

Contributor Committee Nominations

Marv Albert

Al Attles

Dick Baumgartner*

Marty Blake

Vic Bubas

Wayne Duke

David Falk*

Harry Glickman

Marty Glickman

Curt Gowdy

Tim Grgurich

Robert Indiana*

Mannie Jackson

Tom Jernstedt

Johnny “Red” Kerr

John Kline

Red Klotz

Jerry Krause

Bobby Lewis*

Jack McCloskey

Johnny Most

Dennis Murphy

Joe O’Toole

Billy Packer

Dee Rowe*

Zelda Spoelstra

Jim Valvano

Donnie Walsh

Frank Walsh

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.


For more information:

Visit us online:

… on Facebook:

… on Twitter/Instagram: @hoophall #17HoopClass

… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA


Basketball Hall of Fame Media Contact:

Nicole Taylor, Position Sports