Candidates Announced for 2017 Basketball Hall of Fame College Basketball Awards

Top 20 Players in Each Position Named to Watch Lists

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced this week the watch list members for their 2017 College Basketball Awards including Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year, Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year, Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year, Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year. 

Named after legendary Basketball Hall of Fame members, the annual honors recognize the top Division I men’s college basketball players. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers determined the watch list of 20 candidates for each award.

Full Releases:

By mid-February, the watch lists of 20 players will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to the Hall of Fame’s selection committee and the general public for fan voting online. The winners of the 2017 Basketball Hall of Fame College Basketball Awards will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.