Slam Dunk to the Beach Field Announced and Will Feature Numerous Elite Programs

Nation's Top Players Flocking to First State for Return of One of the Country's Premier H.S. Basketball Events

Lewes, DE – The Delaware Sports Commission has announced the national slate of high school teams that will participate in the return of the renowned Slam Dunk to the Beach basketball tournament, which will be held at Cape Henlopen High School from December 27-29, 2014. The field is headlined by several schools who annually occupy spots in the national rankings. Sunrise Christian Academy (Wichita, KS), Our Savior New American School (Centereach, NY), Gonzaga College High School (Washington, D.C.) and Ss. John Neumann-Goretti High School (Philadelphia, PA) will all spend their winter break in the First State.

Fourteen teams—representing seven states and the District of Columbia—will be competing in this year's event, with a fifteenth and final team to be announced at a later date. The tournament, long a staple of the national high school basketball calendar, is returning for the first time since 2003. For 13 years Slam Dunk to the Beach hosted some of the nation’s premier players, including LeBron James (’01), Dwight Howard (’03), Carmelo Anthony (’00) and J.J. Redick (‘01), all now NBA superstars. The new incarnation of the event is sure to provide a showcase for numerous stars of tomorrow.

Other national programs scheduled to participate include St. Vincent-St. Mary High School (Akron, NJ), Roselle Catholic High School (Roselle, NJ), Christ the King High School (Middle Village, NY), Gill St. Bernard’s School (Gladstone, NJ) and Mt. St. Joseph’s High School (Baltimore, MD).

“We are fortunate to have a field that features some of the top programs and players in high school basketball,” said Dr. Matthew Robinson, Chairman of the tournament as well as the Delaware Sports Commission. “With a field of this caliber, Cape Henlopen's gym is sure to be filled to capacity all three days of the tournament, which will not only provide an incredible atmosphere, but will also help bring patrons and visitors to the Delaware beaches during the winter season."

The Delaware teams were announced in March and include state champion Salesianum School (Wilmington, DE), Sanford School (Hockessin, DE), St. Georges Technical High School (St. Georges, DE), Caesar Rodney High School (Dover, DE) and Cape Henlopen High School (Lewes, DE).

The 2014 event will feature numerous Top 100 players, including Cheick Diallo (Our Savior New American/Centereach, NY), Isaiah Briscoe (Roselle Catholic HS/Roselle, NJ), Damon Wilson (Our Savior New American/Centereach, NY), Chris Silva (Roselle Catholic HS/Roselle, NJ) and Bryant Crawford (Gonzaga College HS/Washington, D.C.) as well as top juniors V.J. King (St. Vincent-St. Mary HS/Akron, OH), Tyus Battle (Gill St. Bernard’s School/Gladstone, NJ) and Rawle Alkins (Christ the King HS/Middle Village, NY).

A limited number of three-day tournament tickets are available during a special presale to celebrate the unveiling of this prestigious national field. For more information, or to purchase tickets, visit or follow the tournament on Facebook at Slam Dunk to the Beach or via twitter under the handle @SlamDunkToBeach.

About Delaware Sports Commission:
The Delaware Sports Commission, a not-for-profit organization, was established to attract large and small sporting events to Delaware to benefit the sports industry and community and to positively impact Delaware's economy. The DSC also assists with the retention and growth of existing sports events. To date, the DSC has partnered with close to 30 regional and national events, paving the way for larger-scale future events to be held in Delaware.

About Position Sports:
Position Sports is a national sports-marketing firm based in Phoenix, AZ that specializes in corporate branding, media relations, marketing, consulting and event operations. Over the years, Position Sports has worked with many of the world’s leading brands, including current clients Nike, Jordan Brand, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and USA Basketball.